(i can’t get no) satisfaction

Standard

Although we were in a hurry to get home after my last lecture, we wanted to squeeze in one more food adventure before leaving.  Since North Pole was just across the street from the review center, we decided to give it another go.

My husband had eaten there the previous day and he enjoyed the chicken curry immensely.  He was raving about how yummy it was when he visited me at the center at lunchtime.  He said it was nothing like any of the chicken curry dishes he had tried before.  The chicken was coated in mildly spicy batter and the dish was served sizzling hot and smothered in gooey cheesy goodness.

North Pole’s Chicken Curry (P85)

I was eager to try out their other stuff and my husband was curious about their halo-halo so we excitedly crossed the street and went inside.

BAM!

The moment I stepped inside, a wave of heat hit me smack in the face!

Ang init naman dito sa North Pole!” I couldn’t help thinking.

Talk about climate change. Hardy har har.

We glanced at the menu but nothing appealed to me (plus it was just too darn hot) so we left and went to Carmela’s instead.

I was hoping to try their cakes but they had too many orders for Mothers’ Day so they didn’t have any cake slices for sale.  I ordered a lasagna instead.

carmela's lasagnaCarmela’s Lasagna

Bad idea.  It was soggy and very bland.  I’m very picky when it comes to pasta so I had to force myself to swallow each spoonful.

My husband was craving halo-halo so he ordered one.  We knew at first glance that it would be a far cry from the kilig-inducing halo-halo we had the previous night.  The texture of the crushed ice wasn’t as fine and a lot of it had already melted.    Except for the flavor of the ice cream, the ingredients were actually the same as the one at Mooon’s.  They weren’t as generous with the ingredients though.  The halo-halo tasted good but it didn’t knock my socks off or anything.

Carmela’s Halo-halo (P57)

I think we would’ve been able to appreciate it more though  if we hadn’t tasted the halo-halo at Mooon’s prior to ordering this.   Plus, of course, there’s the Law of Diminishing Marginal Utility.  “As a consumer consumes more and more units of a specific commodity, the utility from the specific units goes on diminishing” (Gossen, 1854).  In other words, the increase in the amount of satisfaction a person gets from a particular good decreases with each additional unit of that good.

dmu
I’ve always had a soft spot for economics (former Economics major in the house!) so I’m tempted to launch a mini-lecture of sorts but I’m not exactly an expert on the subject so I won’t.

Just click here if you find the concept of diminishing marginal utility as fascinating as I do.

Leave a Reply

