no place like home

Standard

I’ll be in the metro for a few days next month and I have to admit that I’m pretty excited about the trip.  I look forward to catching up with friends, visiting my beloved Alma Mater, and going on a foodtrip with my siblings.  But the metro to me is like the moon is to Ernie.

Well, I’d like to visit the moon
On a rocket ship high in the air
Yes, I’d like to visit the moon
But I don’t think I’d like to live there

As much as I miss the happenings (film festivals, concerts, and art exhibits) and unlimited choices (food and shopping), I simply cannot imagine living there–not at this point in my life.  The daily commute is just too stressful and the pace too frantic.

On the other hand, life in my hometown is pretty laid-back.  It’s quiet but not too quiet.  You see, Iligan is a hybrid.  It offers the convenience of city living but at the same time, it retains that probinsya charm.  We have a mall (albeit a small one), wifi hotspots (practically everywhere), and most other stuff cities typically have.  But we also have waterfalls (more than twenty-two!), caves, and all those lovely things the countryside is known for.

More than anything though, I love being in Iligan because this is where my family is.

There’s so many strange places I’d like to be
But none of them permanently
So if I should visit the moon
Well, I’ll dance on a moonbeam and then
I will make a wish on a star
And I’ll wish I was home once again…
So although I may go, I’ll be coming home soon
‘Cause I don’t want to live on the moon
No, I don’t want to live on the moon

Daily Prompt: We Built This City

Leave a Reply

