scribbles

Standard

I couldn’t find anyone to watch over my son this morning so I took him with me to work.  He managed to get a hold of a piece of chalk and started scribbling on the board.  He drew something which looked a bit like the letter Y but I wasn’t sure if it was just my imagination so I just let him go about his business.

Then he wrote something which resembled the letter W!  Maybe it was just a coincidence but it still got me excited.  I didn’t want to interrupt what he was doing so I just put my pen down and watched him more closely.

Lo and behold, he started writing the letter M!  It was far from perfect but there was no mistaking what it was.  My son then turned around, pointed at what he just wrote and said proudly, “M!”

No, I don’t think that what happened means that he has already learned to write although he has been able to identify certain numbers (2 and 4) and letters (A, B, I, M, and O) without prompting even before he turned two.

But what I do know is that what transpired this morning was a milestone I was fortunate enough to have seen with my own eyes.

One response »

Leave a Reply

