the first quarter of the year that was

Standard

2012 was a year of extremes and opposites. Of really high highs and really low lows. Of mad dashes and complete stops. Of euphoria and depression. Of rekindled friendships and severed ties. Of hellos and goodbyes.

It may not have been as earth-shattering as 2011–the year of whirlwinds–but it was still one heck of a roller coaster ride.

So here’s a look back at the year that was.

January
Defense of the Ancient Thesis
Two years after I started working on my masteral thesis, I finally got to defend it.  The final defense was such a nerve-wracking ordeal, I wanted to scream, “Huzzah!” when I finally got the green light from my panel.

The Giving Spree

My hometown was still reeling from the aftermath of Typhoon Sendong when the year started.  Although most of my high school batchmates had already gone back to their places of work (for lack of a better term), our batch continued with its relief operations. We teamed up with Tzu Chi Zamboanga, Project PEARLS, Philippine Funds for Little Kids, Happy Soles and the Rotary Club of Zamboanga City for the Sending Sendong Kids Back to School Project.  We distributed school supplies to kids whose schools were affected by the typhoon.jan 2012 highlight 1

It was a very fulfilling experience and I would’ve wanted to join more relief efforts.  But alas, my maternity leave was coming to an end so I had to pack my bags and head back to the metro.

Playlist for the Month:
1. Christina Perri – Arms
       You put your arms around me and I’m home
2. Christina Perri – A Thousand Years
       Heart beats fast
       Colors and promises
3. Christina Perri – Jar of Hearts
       You’re gonna catch a cold
       From the ice inside your soul

February
The Return of the Cineaste
The Experience New Zealand 2012 Film Festival marked the beginning of my love affair with Shang Cineplex and the return of my film fest-hopping days .  Of the four movies  I got to watch, my favorite was Eagle vs Shark followed closely by Boy.  Both films were directed by Taika Waititi.
474351_10150817206268312_305674766_oPlaylist for the Month:
1. The Civil Wars – Poison and Wine
       I don’t have a choice but I’d still choose you

       Oh I don’t love you, I always will
2. Franco – This Gathering
       In time we’ll be together
       I’ll be home forever

March
Hello, Catharsis.
When my bouts of homesickness showed no signs of diminishing a  month after my return to the metro, I decided to go back to blogging.  But instead of reviving one of my four existing blogs, I created a new one.   I wanted a fresh start, a clean slate.  And so this blog came into existence.

The Well That Gives
My little brother’s graduation was a big deal not only because I was one proud ate but also because it was my first time to attend an actual college graduation (I skipped mine).  The class valedictorian, Kenneth I. Abante, gave such a beautiful and heartfelt speech that I came close to tears a couple of times.

No Place Like Home
After two long, agonizing months, I got to be with my family again!  I was initially worried my son wouldn’t remember me.  But boy, did he recognize me!
reunited
Playlist for the Month:
1. The Shins – New Slang
       Well I’d ‘a danced like the queen of the eyesores
       And the rest of our lives would ‘a fared well
2. The Weepies – World Spins Madly On
       The whole world is moving and I’m standing still
3. The Civil Wars – 20 Years
       Just some black ink on some blue lines
4. Foster the People – Pumped Up Kicks (Acoustic Version)
       Just because it’s catchy.
5. Death Cab for Cutie – Title and Registration
       Just because.

Leave a Reply

