blizzards, dream worlds, and magic mirrors

Standard

Considering how much alcohol I had the night before, I was immensely relieved when I woke up without a hangover last Saturday. And since I was feeling pretty lazy, I spent the morning in bed reading The Confessions of Max Tivoli as I waited for my roommate to wake up.

Instead of going to an amusement park, we decide to watch a movie instead. And so we headed to the mall and settled on Mirror, Mirror. It was still pretty early so we made a beeline for Dairy Queen and had some DQ Blizzard (Mango Cheesecake for my roommate, Strawberry Banana for me). We then headed to the fourth floor to check out the art galleries.

The first exhibit to catch our attention was the one at Mendez Big & Small Art Company. I’m not an art expert so I won’t even try to offer some half-baked critique. 🙂 But oh, what a mesmerizing experience it was! I swear I could’ve stayed there for hours were it not for the movie tickets in my bag.

We didn’t have much time left so we didn’t stop by any of the other galleries except for Galerie Francesca where Jef Cablog was holding a one-man exhibit. My roommate and I were in awe as we went from one painting to another. Such amazing technique! The paintings seemed to come to life before our very eyes but at the same time, it was as if we were being pulled into a sort of dream world.

We were still feeling a bit heady when we reluctantly left Galerie Francesca.  But alas, it was already two o’clock.  We didn’t want to keep the evil queen waiting.

*If you want to know more about Jef Cablog and his works, check out his website at http://jefcablog.multiply.com.

Leave a Reply

